November 8, 2004
-

Woohoo!
The driveway’s getting done!

Ten past eight, Monday morning –
The peace and quiet of a cool fall morning is suddenly shattered by the shrill barking of two very excited little dogs:
Mommy! There’s a man outside! With a machine!!
Yes, I know girls, the man’s here to do our driveway.
But he’s outside! Now!
And he has a machine!!
And it’s making noise!!!
I know girls, he’s supposed to be here, I invited him.
But there’s a man!!
Outside!!
Making noise!!
With a machine!!
Shhh, quiet. That’s enough.
There’s a man!
And he’s right outside!!
NOW!!!
Quiet! Go lay down!
But
he’s
outside!!!
And
he
has
a
machine!!!!
MOMMY!!!
Quiet! Quit barking – NOW!!
But mommy, mommy,mommy, theresamanoutsideandhehasamachineanditsmakingnoise!!
He’s outside, he is, we hear him, he’s making noise outside!!
With a machine!!!!
Mommy!
HE’S OUT THERE!

Okay.
I give up…
There will be no peace and quiet, I can tell.
Off with the nice warm cozy nightgown, into the sweats and sneakers…
Guess I will get a lot done starting this early.

Yesterday we raked up all these leaves:
After I chopped up a lot of the leaves on the lawn with the mower. This huge pile is just what was too thick on the lawn to mow. Just one of the drawbacks of having a nice shady yard. Another one is all the sticks I still have to pick up and haul out to the curb, courtesy of the windy days we had last week.

So, I ended up getting a lot done in the yard, while the guy graded the driveway and parking area with the machine. I got the trench dug and the electric wire buried for the outdoor outlet that will be going in the corner of the backyard, where I hope to put a pond next year. The wire had to be put in now, because it is going under one of the parking areas that we are making.
I got a lot done today toward putting my yard and flowerbeds to sleep for the winter. Tonight is supposed to be our first freeze of the season, so it’s only a matter of time now, before Old Man Winter comes in with a vengeance. I still have a few more spring bulbs to plant, I will probably do that tomorrow. Most of the leaves and debris are picked up, except for a few under one spruce tree, with the spruce cones, and a pile of crabapples that I raked up in the backyard, which need to go into the compost.
I have been gathering up hoses and sprinklers, and they just need to be stored away inside the cabana, but I need to make a little more space in there. I am sure there will still be a few warm hours I can grab here and there to put things like that, the garden tools, and the patio furniture inside. The main thing now is to just get all the plants taken care of so they will survive the winter.
I am getting stone delivered tomorrow for the driveway. It will be the first of a total of 3 or 4 loads before the job is done. Then I need to get a small load of dirt delivered for filling in next to the driveway, and one final load of mulch, so I can put an extra layer over some of the plantings that need more protection for the winter. I have to take some special precautions for the banana tree, but not until the weather is going to be steadily cold, so I am going to wait for a coupple of weeks. I also have to put some stakes in around my baby willow tree, so the deer don’t kill it rubbing their antlers on the bark like they did my baby ash tree last fall.
All in all, I am very happy with how things are going. There is a sense of satsfaction in putting things away for the winter, a time to reflect on all the hard work I did all year and how much nicer things are than they were last year. And a time to look forward, and dream of how beautiful it will all be when the spring arrives again.
More pictures to come tomorrow, I am taking them during various stages of the driveway/parking project.



Comments (6)
Glad the work on the yard and driveway is going well.
I loved your transcriptions from the dogs. I really missed my own guys reading it. They were just the same. Well, Satchmo used to bark like mad at the people across the street. As they were going into their own house. How dare they! Didn’t they know they had to answer to Satchmo?! Of course it was all bluff. The minute someone he didn’t know came in, he’d hide behind one of us. I miss him.
Sounds like my doggiedears…very protective…Sassy
the leaf pile looks like the kind in cartoons where you can just jump right in like snoopy!
FOFL! I often translate for my pets! When my son was about two, he asked me how I knew what they were thinking! lol I just told him I could look at them and tell! (Kept the son on his guard for awhile there. *wink*)
Noooooo! No leaf-jumping! Besides having to rake them all up again, one might end up like my first husband did after a round in the leaves one autumn…with a scratched cornea!
You amaze me!
Peace and Love…GFW
Wow, you’ve got a lot going on. You sure have a lot of energy. Those dogs sound cute!!
I was laughing at your “conversation”. Very clever. You have been a busy girl! It made me tired just to read all the work you did! Have a great day!