Month: July 2009

  • The family biz…

    sewing I was just busy in my sewing room, my awesome new machine humming away, and went into one of those contemplative states that I find myself in when all is quiet and peaceful, and I am working at something that I enjoy.  I started thinking about my relationship to sewing, and how many times over the years I have sat at a sewing machine, busy creating, and in that same calm meditative state.  it was then that I realized that it only makes sense that at least part of my business involves sewing.  It is the closest thing to a ‘family business’ I have.

    I have acknowledged since I started Especially Fur You with the help of my cousin Shirley and Aunt Mary that all three of us have years of sewing experience, from different approaches and disciplines, but still it all comes down to sewing.  Between us, we have over 130 years of combined experience!

    But it goes much further than that.  From what I know of my family tree so far, my …

    paternal great-grandmother (married name Ball, from Alsace-Lorraine) was a tailor

    paternal grandmother (Mabel Eggert, nee Ball) was dressmaker and did alterations for a living

    father’s sister (Aunt Grace Andicko, nee Eggert) does needlepoint and used to make hand-hooked rugs

    maternal great-grandfather (Frank Uszkay, in Budapest, Hungary) was a shoemaker — that involves sewing, too

    maternal grandmother (Mary Evans, nee Uszkay) worked for her brother — (my great-uncle) in a dress factory when she first immigrated from Hungary, and then after marrying my grandfather (William H. Evans) she became a typical farm wife, doing anything she coulkd to bring in a little extra money to help the family — this included making stuffed toy animals and doing various other sewing

    mother’s sisters, my aunts Mary and Agnes both did interior decorating work, making draperies, bedspreads and so on, and also some upholstery work

    mother didn’t sew for a living, but when she found the time, she enjoyed sewing various projects around the house, like curtains and chair cushions. 

    cousin Shirley (Aunt Mary’s daughter) designs and makes clothing, including the formal dresses she created when she owned and ran a bridal shop, and she has also done upholstery work and machine embroidery

    Down to my generation, the only woman in my “immediate” (extended) family — which I define as my grandparents, their children and their offspring — that does not sew is my cousin, Rosemarie, who is a hairdresser.  And of the ones who do (or did) sew, only my Aunt Grace and my mom just sewed for pleasure and never for a job.  Of course, times have changed, I guess, because the the generation after me doesn’t seem to have followed suit at all.  I don’t even think that any of them have any type of sewing or needlework as a hobby.  But, they are starting to produce the next generation (four girls and one boy so far, with another boy coming – the one whose baby shower was this past saturday) so who knows what those children will grow up to do. 

    Funny, I never really analyzed it this way.  But it really is a family legacy, the closest thing we have to a fmaily business, in a strongly matriarchal family.  In a way, I am just a tad dissapointed in myself for not being as much of a rebel as I thought I was, but on the other hand, it makes me proud to carry on one more tradition…

     

    needle

     

  • been a long time!

     

    Wow.

    It sure has been along time since I have been here.  My life has been crazy-busy.  I keep promising to start blogging here again (because it really does help me to organize my thoughts) but I never seem to find the time.

    I see that they have messed with Xanga again, and most of my links and graphics no longer work.  That happens all too often.  It is getting to be a real pet peeve of mine, too.  I have this site and my dogs site - dollyandpearl – on Xanga.  Also imakeart, which I haven’t used in ages.  AND also a myspace page (they are changing formats and messing with things too) a facebook page, and numerous little mini-profile pages on places like classmates.com.  that’s just the ‘social networking’ aspect of my online life.

    Then, there is eBay.  My eBay store www.especiallyfuryou.com, is now my main “job”.  Along with that I have my website, www.quickerchief.com, and on eBay, the “about me” page, eBay “My World” page, and eBay blog.  These things make up the ‘corporate identity’ of my online business presence.  And all seem to require constant updating and tweaking, even when ebay isn’t rolling out major revisions, changes in rules, and format ‘updates’!! 

    In order to effectively promote my eBay business, I am a member of numerous user groups on eBay, and maintain adspace on many other bulletin boards, lists and networking sites across the internet. All which require updates and revisions whenever their owners decide to ‘improve’ their pages.

    And then there are the Yahoo groups, where I connect with like-minded individuals to promote my products and gather information to help improve my business.

    And of course the webrings, connecting all of my various pages with other similar content online…

    On top of that I have a secondary eBay store, books-2-read, which is currently idle because I haven’t had time to keep up with it.  And my ‘online yard sale’ on eBay, under the id adifrentdrumr, where I occasionally sell household goods, clothes or personal items.

    In order to support all this stuff, and keep up with related correspondance, I maintain three separate email accounts.

    By the time I get done ‘making the rounds’, checking this, fixing that, updating the other one… it seems that I have no time left to actually get any real work done, or create any content of true substance.

    Is it just me, or, in this Internet age, are we all suffocating under the weight of communicatioin overload???