July 13, 2009

  • been a long time!

     

    Wow.

    It sure has been along time since I have been here.  My life has been crazy-busy.  I keep promising to start blogging here again (because it really does help me to organize my thoughts) but I never seem to find the time.

    I see that they have messed with Xanga again, and most of my links and graphics no longer work.  That happens all too often.  It is getting to be a real pet peeve of mine, too.  I have this site and my dogs site - dollyandpearl – on Xanga.  Also imakeart, which I haven’t used in ages.  AND also a myspace page (they are changing formats and messing with things too) a facebook page, and numerous little mini-profile pages on places like classmates.com.  that’s just the ‘social networking’ aspect of my online life.

    Then, there is eBay.  My eBay store www.especiallyfuryou.com, is now my main “job”.  Along with that I have my website, www.quickerchief.com, and on eBay, the “about me” page, eBay “My World” page, and eBay blog.  These things make up the ‘corporate identity’ of my online business presence.  And all seem to require constant updating and tweaking, even when ebay isn’t rolling out major revisions, changes in rules, and format ‘updates’!! 

    In order to effectively promote my eBay business, I am a member of numerous user groups on eBay, and maintain adspace on many other bulletin boards, lists and networking sites across the internet. All which require updates and revisions whenever their owners decide to ‘improve’ their pages.

    And then there are the Yahoo groups, where I connect with like-minded individuals to promote my products and gather information to help improve my business.

    And of course the webrings, connecting all of my various pages with other similar content online…

    On top of that I have a secondary eBay store, books-2-read, which is currently idle because I haven’t had time to keep up with it.  And my ‘online yard sale’ on eBay, under the id adifrentdrumr, where I occasionally sell household goods, clothes or personal items.

    In order to support all this stuff, and keep up with related correspondance, I maintain three separate email accounts.

    By the time I get done ‘making the rounds’, checking this, fixing that, updating the other one… it seems that I have no time left to actually get any real work done, or create any content of true substance.

    Is it just me, or, in this Internet age, are we all suffocating under the weight of communicatioin overload???

     

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *